Tehran: Main Facts

Modern and traditional, secular and religious, rich and poor

Geographical Location of Tehran

Tehran It is based in the centre of Iran, which is in Central Asia.

Land/Sea Boundaries of Tehran

Tehran county borders Shemiranat county to the north, Damavand county to the east, Eslamshahr, Pakdasht, and Ray counties to the south, and Karaj and Shahriar counties to the west. Iran borders Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Pakistan, Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan, Russia, Turkey and Iraq.

Languages of Tehran

The official language is Persian, though there are many regional dialects, mainly from the amount of immigration the city has had. English is quite well understood, due to the fine educational standards of the city.

Currency of Tehran

The legal tender of Iran is the Iranian rial.