Stockholm: Geography

Venice of the North

Stockholm Geography

The geography of Stockholm, although a major urban area, is distinguished by its many parks, islands and bodies of water. The city itself is made up of 14 islands and divided into 3 main parts: Stockholm City Centre, South Stockholm and West Stockholm. Stockholm City Centre consists of Kungsholmen, Norrmalm, Södermalm and Östermalm. The South and West Stockholm make up the rest of the municipality of Stockholm, and together with other municipalities of greater Stockholm, comprise several other towns, suburbs and/or bedroom communities.