Melbourne: Main Facts

Australia's multicultural hub

Melbourne Main Facts

Geographical Location of Melbourne

Melbourne is located in the south-eastern part of mainland Australia, within the state of Victoria.

Land/Sea Boundaries of Melbourne

Melbourne extends along the Yarra through the Yarra Valley toward the Dandenong Ranges and Yarra Ranges to the east. It extends northward through the undulating bushland valleys of the Yarra's tributaries - Moonee Ponds Creek (toward Tullamarine Airport), Merri Creek, Darebin Creek and Plenty River to the outer suburban growth corridors of Craigieburn and Whittlesea.

The city sprawls south-east through Dandenong to the growth corridor of Pakenham towards West Gippsland, and southward through the Dandenong Creek valley, the Mornington Peninsula and the city of Frankston taking in the peaks of Olivers Hill, Mount Martha and Arthurs Seat, extending along the shores of Port Phillip as a single conurbation to reach the exclusive suburb of Portsea and Point Nepean. In the west, it extends along the Maribyrnong River and its tributaries north towards Sunbury and the foothills of the Macedon Ranges, and along the flat volcanic plain country towards Melton in the west, Werribee at the foothills of the You Yangs granite ridge and Geelong as part of the greater metropolitan area to the south-west.

Languages of Melbourne

The vast majority of Melbourne’s population speak English. However, as a multicultural city, other languages are also present to some degree; most notably Italian (2.4%), Greek (1.9 %) and Chinese (1.3 %). Melbourne also features substantial Vietnamese, Indian and Sri Lankan-born communities, in addition to recent South African and Sudanese influxes.

Currency of Melbourne

The currency in Melbourne is the Australian Dollar. It is the only accepted currency in the city.