Malaysia: Main Facts

Asia's Rising Star

Malaysia Main Facts

Geographical Location of Malaysia

Malaysia is a country in South-East Asia, located partly on a peninsula of the Asian mainland and partly on the northern third of the island of Borneo.

Land/Sea Boundaries of Malaysia

The South China Sea separates the two distinct parts of Malaysia. However, both the parts have coastal plains which rise to heavily forested hills and mountains. Thailand, Singapore, Straits of Malacca and Indonesian island of Sumatra share their borders with the Peninsular Malaysia on the north, south, west and east respectively.

Languages of Malaysia

The national language is Malay, or Bahasa Malaysia, although English is widely spoken. Chinese dialects and Tamil are also spoken.

Currency of Malaysia

Local currency of Malaysia is Ringgit Malaysia (RM) and is divided into 100 sen, or cents. It is the only widely accepted currency in Malaysia.