Lisbon: Geography

Beautiful views, majestic monasteries, quaint cafe's and more

Lisbon Geography

The geography of Lisbon is diverse and interesting. Greater Lisbon is made up of 9 municipalities: Amado-ra, Cascais, Lisbon, Loures, Mafra, Odivelas, Oeiras, Sintra and Vila Franca de Xira. Sintra is a mountainous area to the northwest of Lisbon, while the coast to the west is dotted with beaches up to the town of Cas-cais. Setúbal lies south across the Tagus (Tejo) River, the mouth of which runs into a bay bordering the east of the city. Lisbon is also is bordered by Monsanto Forest Park, a 10 square kilometer urban park northwest of the city proper. Historical Lisbon is about 85 km².